Imminent resurrection possible

Continuing a tradition begun last February 29, I am posting to announce that…I may start posting again.

(The hiatus was a bit longer this time, of course. But perhaps the coming non-hiatus may be also.)

I would be picking up where I left off, more or less.

 

5 Responses to Imminent resurrection possible

  1. eduwidget says:

    woot! Just read your piece on pachelbel. Go for it!

  2. Mini says:

    It’s interesting to me that your very last post (before this) mentions Joel Lester, whose ‘Compositional Theory in the Eighteenth Century’ shows that the teachings of J.S. and C.P.E Bach, Kirnberger, Beethoven, Mozart, etc… do not support the premise of your argument.

    • James Cook says:

      Mini:

      My views have evolved a great deal since the days when I was writing posts on this blog. In particular, I’m no longer as confident as I used to be that Rameau or any other particular historical theorist or theoretical school should bear the blame for the inadequacies of music theory and pedagogy in our era. (In fact, I’m not even sure music theory is exceptionally unsatisfactory relative to other disciplines; I think I had too optimistic a view of other fields.) I continue to think that the distinction between the approach represented by Westergaard and that represented by conventional “harmony” texts is as important as ever, but I’m willing to admit (now, if I wasn’t before) that it may not correspond in a straightforward way to any particular 18th-century theoretical dichotomy. (Reading Lester may well have played a role in that viewpoint change, if it was a change — I can’t be sure.)

      Also, I no longer have the desire to be polemical or outspokenly contrarian; I’d rather just build a positive agenda, doing things the way I would like to do them, rather than complaining about the way others do them. In addition to being a nicer (if perhaps less entertaining) approach, this also frees one up intellectually from being bound to a particular dialectical “role” (e.g. “the anti-harmony crusader”), which is usually not epistemically healthy.

  3. Mini says:

    Thank you for your sincere and helpful response! I have the ‘An Introduction to Tonal Theory’ now and I’m enjoying this approach anyway. I am also currently looking into the teaching practices of Nadia Boulanger and Barry Harris, which may interest you also.

    Kind regards and a happy solstice/new year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

